This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.

What Information Will Other 23andMe Members See When I Share with Them?

23andMe is preparing to transition customers located in Canada to an updated version of the 23andMe experience. You will receive an email when your account has been transitioned.

New 23andMe Experience | Old 23andMe Experience

New 23andMe Experience

Establishing a sharing connection on 23andMe allows users to view one another's profile names, information from compatible reports, and the number and location of overlapping DNA segments. A sharing connection does not allow either person to search or download the other person's raw data, access their DNA Relatives list, or if applicable, view reports that require an additional consent, or view and download the other person’s Reports Archive.

Sharing Levels | Considerations | Additional Notes

Sharing Levels

When inviting someone to share, you can choose between two levels as described below:

Share Ancestry Only

  • If you're related, see the location of matching DNA segments between yourself and the match, as well as any DNA relatives matches that you have in common. Learn more.
  • Compare your ancestries from the Ancestry Composition, Haplogroups, and Neanderthal Ancestry reports.

Share Ancestry and Health

  • In addition to the capabilities above, you will be able to compare data from compatible health-related and traits topics.
  • Reports that requires additional consent - such as Late-onset Alzheimer’s Disease and Parkinson’s Disease - cannot be shared between accounts.

 

What should I consider before sharing at 23andMe?
  • When you extend a sharing invitation, your profile name will be included in the sharing invitation. Once sharing has been established between two accounts, both full profile names will be visible in each other’s accounts.
  • You would directly be sharing information about ancestral origins, family relationships (including a predicted relationship if applicable) and, if you've chosen that option, health-related information. Some people are very comfortable sharing this kind of information, some are not — it's a personal choice.
  • In the DNA Relatives tool, you can compare the shared DNA segments of two profiles you are sharing with even if those two are not sharing with each other. Similarly, the individuals with whom you share your profile may compare your DNA with that of other people they're sharing with. This aspect of sharing allows customers to compare people to each other and opens up new genealogical vistas by allowing customers to find evidence of family relationships.
  • There is some chance that someone you are sharing with could learn something about you that you didn't directly share. For example, if you and someone you are sharing with have a matching segment of DNA that overlaps a health-associated gene, you might infer something about their genotype on the basis of your own, or vice versa. While it's important that we mention this possibility, in practice it is not easy to make inferences like this, and it doesn't happen very often.

Generally, we recommend sharing with people you are comfortable with. Sharing allows you to use more of the features on the website and adds a new dimension to what you can learn about yourself and your family. Many customers share openly with each other and have benefited from the experience. As you learn more about genetics and develop a finer sense of the issues involved, you might begin to share more openly yourself.

 

Additional Notes on Sharing
  • You may not see data for an individual with whom you are sharing if that individual's data has not yet been loaded to his or her account. Even though you can't see his or her information, he or she will be able to see yours. Once his or her data becomes available you will be able to view it.
  • Information for people already listed in your sharing list may disappear if they decide to discontinue the sharing connection or close their accounts.

 

Old 23andMe Experience

When inviting someone to share, you can choose between two levels as described below:

Sharing, without health reports:

Sharing, with health reports:

  • In addition to the capabilities above, his or her data will be available in most Health and Traits topics. 

You will not, in either level, be able to search or download the other person's raw data or access their DNA Relatives list.

 

What should I consider before sharing at 23andMe?
  • You would directly be sharing information about ancestral origins, family relationships and, if you've chosen that option, health risks. Some people are very comfortable sharing this kind of information, some are not -- it's a personal choice.

  • Some features like Family Traits, allow you to compare DNA between two people you are sharing with. Similarly, your shares may compare your DNA with that of people they're sharing with. For example, if you and Adam both share with Bob, Bob may run comparisons between you and Adam. This aspect of sharing allows customers to compare people to each other and opens up new genealogical vistas by allowing customers to find evidence of family relationships. However, for some these new-found family relationships could be upsetting.

  • There is some chance that someone you are sharing with could learn something about you that you didn't directly share. For example, if you and someone you are sharing with have a matching segment of DNA that overlaps a health-associated gene, you might infer something about their genotype on the basis of your own, or vice versa. While it's important that we mention this possibility, in practice it is not easy to make inferences like this, and it doesn't happen very often.

Generally, we recommend sharing with people you are comfortable with. Sharing allows you to use more of the features on the website and adds a new dimension to what you can learn about yourself and your family. Many customers share openly with each other and have benefited from the experience. As you learn more about genetics and develop a finer sense of the issues involved, you might begin to share more openly yourself.

 

Additional Notes on Sharing
  • You may not see data for an individual with whom you are sharing if that individual's data have not yet been loaded to their account. Even though you can't see his or her information, he or she will be able to see yours. Once his or her data becomes available you will be able to view it.

  • Information for people already listed in your sharing list may disappear if they decide to discontinue the sharing connection or close their accounts.

Follow
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Submit a request

Or call 1-800-239-5230
Monday through Friday, 9:00am to 12:00pm and 1:00pm to 4:00pm PST/PDT

Let us know what you think of our Help Center by taking a quick survey.