23andMe recently streamlined and automated our account deletion process. If at any time you are no longer interested in participating in our Services, you may delete your 23andMe account and personal data, directly within your Account Settings.
Once you submit your request, we will send an email to the email address linked to your 23andMe account detailing our account deletion policy and requesting that you to confirm your request. Once you review our policy and confirm your request to permanently delete your data, your account will no longer be accessible while we process your request. Once confirmed, this process cannot be canceled, undone, withdrawn, or reversed.
The following applies when your account and data are deleted:
If you chose to consent to 23andMe Research by agreeing to an applicable 23andMe Research consent document, any research involving your data that has already been performed or published prior to our receipt of your request will not be reversed, undone, or withdrawn.
Any samples for which you gave consent to be stored (biobanked) will be discarded.
23andMe and our contracted genotyping laboratory will retain your Genetic Information, Date of Birth, and sex as required for compliance with legal obligations, pursuant to the California laboratory regulations and the US. Federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA), respectively.
23andMe will retain limited information related to your data deletion request, such as your email address and Account Deletion Request Identifier, as necessary to fulfill your request and for the establishment, exercise or defense of legal claims.
We recommend that you review our full Privacy Statement, or email Privacy@23andme.com, for more information about deleting your data before submitting your request.